Wednesday, 6 March 2013


1000 Words is honoured to welcome Christian Patterson, author of the hugely successful photobook Redheaded Peckerwood, as the photographer to lead our first workshop in London, 20-24th May. This is a rare opportunity to learn from his experiences and mastery of process, narrative and the book form.

In a separate event, 1000 Words has also organised a free symposium with Patterson together with Tate’s Curator of Photography, Simon Baker; artist and collector, Brad Feuerhelm; and renowned gallerist Michael Hoppen also to be held at Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in the capital, the details of which will be announced shortly.


Christian Patterson has achieved considerable critical acclaim for his second book Redheaded Peckerwood, now in its third print edition after having only been published in 2011. A contemporary classic, it has been hailed as one of the great photobooks in the tradition of Robert Frank’s The Americans, Michael Schmidt’s Waffenruhe and Alec Soth’s Sleeping by the Mississippi. It is a beautifully edited and sequenced travelogue, tracing the footsteps of the infamous young couple Charles Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate as they embarked on a killing spree across Nebraska to their point of capture in Douglas, Wyoming.

The book cleverly utilises different genres as well as vernacular photography and found documents to produce a story that traverses both fiction and fact, past and present, myth and reality.

Patterson worked with William Eggleston for three years and published his first monograph, Sound Effects in 2008. Redheaded Peckerwood, published by MACK, was nominated for the 2012 Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards won the prestigious Les Rencontres d’Arles Author Book Award in the same year. He is exhibited and collected widely and is represented by the Rose Gallery in the USA and Robert Morat Gallery in Germany. For a full CV click here.


The 1000 Words Workshop will take place in [SPACE] studios in Hackney, East London. The workshop will be an intense and productive experience lasting five days (20-24 May 2013) and will be limited to 12 participants.


The cost of each workshop is £600 for five days. Participants will be selected on a first-come-first served basis and will be expected to make the payment in full within one week. Participants are encouraged to arrive the day before the workshop begins for a welcome dinner. The price includes:

-tuition from Christian Patterson (including defining each participant’s project; shooting; editing and sequencing sessions; creating a coherent body of work; creation of a slide show; projection of the images of the participants.)
-a welcome dinner
-24 hour help from the 1000 Words team.

Participants will be expected to make their own travel arrangements, cover their on-the-ground expenses and find accommodation. We can advise on finding the accommodation that best suits you.  Please note that for the purposes and practicalities of a workshop, digital is advisable. All participants should also bring a laptop if they have one. Every effort will be made to accommodate individual technical needs.


We require that you send 10 images as low res jpegs and/or a link to your website, as well as a short biography and statement about why you think it will be relevant for you to work with Christian Patterson (approx. 200 words total). Submissions are to be sent to with the following subject header: SUBMISSION FOR 1000 WORDS WORKSHOP WITH CHRISTIAN PATTERSON.

15 April 2013: Final deadline for applications
22 April 2013: Payment due (£600)
19 May 2013: Arrive in London for welcome dinner
20 May 2013: Workshop begins
24 May 2013: Workshop ends